What are Sacraments?

“The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1131).

The human experience involves true interaction, a tactile experience that engages our senses. When Jesus established the Sacraments, He was thinking about the best way we can receive them. The Sacraments are visible signs of Grace, a way for us to receive and experience the gift of Grace that flows freely from the heart of Jesus. They were established for the good and benefit of the Church, and thus Catholics are encouraged to receive the Sacraments as often as possible. As the Catechism of the Catholic Church describes, “the seven Sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of the Christian life.” (CCC, 1210).

 Sacraments of Initiation:

Sacraments of Healing:
Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments of Communion and Mission:
Holy Orders